Hits From Another Planet

Johan Palm - Emma-Lee

Friday, April 10, 2009



"It's strong and it's taking me over"

First off, I apologize for the lack of posting yesterday. I was in Canada all day and came home exhausted (and with a cold!). Now onto today...
Johan Palm was one of the contestants in last year's Swedish Idol. He was my personal favorite, even though he only came in fourth. I knew that he'd make some interesting music, and while his first single may not be "interesting" it's far more professional and hit-worthy than I expected. Despite some stupid lyrics, Emma-Lee is a ridiculously catchy rock/pop track that I can see doing great things for Johan. It's already a hit on itunes, supporting my prediction that he will end up being the most commercially successful 2008 contestant. He's already got a big fanbase and sounds great on record... much better than he sounded live some weeks. I'm pleased to hear some synths in the mix as well. My hope is that the producers/team will steer him in sort of an "Ark Jr." direction, since that's the kind of music I picture him making, especially given his androgynous looks and fashion sense. The full album is out on the 20th of May and a video will be released soon. I didn't really expect anything from him until the fall, so this is a pleasant surprise.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0